Know More About Our Country

Some Facts About The Holy Land

 THE LAND: Geography and Climate

Small Area; Short Distances

The total area of the Holy Land is 8,630 sq. miles (22,145, of which 8,367 sq. miles (21,671 sq. km.) is land area. The Holy Land is some 470 km. (290 miles) in length and about 85 miles (135 km.) across at the widest point. The country is bordered by Lebanon to the north, Syria to the northeast, Jordan to the east, Egypt to the southwest and the Mediterranean Sea to the west.

Mountains and plains, fertile land, and desert are often minutes apart. The width of the country, from the Mediterranean Sea in the west to the Dead Sea in the east, can be crossed by car in about 90 minutes; and the trip from Metulla, in the far North, to Eilat at the country's southern tip takes about nine hours.

Sites recommended to visit during your stay in the Holy Land

Bethlehem, the birthplace of Jesus of Nazareth and perhaps the ultimate destination during the holidays of Easter and Christmas.

Jerusalem, the must-see Holy City including the mind-blowing sights and sounds of the Old City.

Qasr el Yahud, the site where John the Baptist baptized Jesus, deep in the desert.

Nazareth, the childhood home of Jesus, and today home to the largest Christian church in the Middle East and other great sites.

The Jesus Trail, the recently created hiking trail that follows in Jesus’ footsteps in the Galilee, running from Nazareth to Capernaum.

Capernaum, “The town of Jesus”, where several churches and a museum celebrate the life and teachings of Jesus.

Mount of Beatitudes, the home to The Sermon on the Mount, and a tranquil oasis overlooking the Sea of Galilee.

Tabgha, the legendary site of the feeding of the five thousand (with five loaves and two fish), celebrated today by the Church of the Multiplication.

Haifa is a northern Israeli port city built in tiers extending from the Mediterranean up the north slope of Mount Carmel. The city’s most iconic sites are the immaculately landscaped terraces of the Bahá'í Gardens and, at their heart, the gold-domed Shrine of the Báb.

St. George’s Monastery, the stunning cliff-hugging monastery (one of the world’s oldest) in the heart of the Judean desert.

Nablus is a city in the northern West Bank, approximately 49 kilometers (30 mi) north of Jerusalem,the city was named by the Roman Emperor Vespasian in 72 CE as Flavia Neapolis. Since then, Nablus has been ruled by many empires over the course of its almost 2,000-year-long history.

Masar Ibrahim Al-Khalil is a trail that runs through the West Bank from the Mediterranean olive groves of the highlands of the north to the silence of the deserts in the south, from the area west of Jenin to the area south of the Sanctuary of Abraham (known in Arabic as Al-Haram Al-Ibrahimi) in the city of (Hebron).

Holy Sites

Custom text add style or add images write what ever you want.

Al-Aqsa Mosque (Arabic: ٱلْـمَـسْـجِـد الْاَقْـصَى‎), located in the Old City of Jerusalem, is the third holiest site in Islam; Known as Haram esh-Sharif in Islam. 

Follow in the footsteps of centuries of pilgrims, and enter one of the holiest sanctuaries on earth, where the Prophet Muhammad is said to have ascended to heaven during his early years of preaching Islam. Haram Al Sharif is widely considered the third holiest site in Islam. Revered as the Noble Sanctuary, the location of Muhammad’s journey to Jerusalem and ascent to heaven.

The wide plaza, above the Old City, is centered around the glittering Dome of the Rock, which is Jerusalem’s most iconic landmark. where Muslims also believe the Prophet Muhammad began his journey to heaven. The southern side of the mount is home to the Al-Aqsa Mosque, said to be one of the oldest mosques in the world.




The Church of the Holy Sepulchre(Arabic: كَنِيسَةُ ٱلْقِيَامَة‎ ); also called the Church of the Resurrection or Church of the Anastasis by Orthodox Christians) is a church in the Christian Quarter of the Old City of Jerusalem. The church contains, according to traditions dating back to at least the fourth century, the two holiest sites in Christianity: the site where Jesus of Nazareth was crucified, at a place known as "Calvary" or "Golgotha", and Jesus' empty tomb, where he is said to have been buried and resurrected.The tomb is enclosed by the 19th-century shrine, called the Aedicule (Edicule). The Status Quo, a 150-year-old understanding between religious communities, applies to the site